Super Eagles to Discover 2025 AFCON Opponents in Johannesburg, South Africa

Super Eagles to Discover 2025 AFCON Opponents in Johannesburg, South Africa

Nigeria senior men’s football team, the Super Eagles, will learn their qualifying opponents for the 35th Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) finals, scheduled to be held in Morocco in 2025.Super Eagles to Discover 2025 AFCON Opponents in Johannesburg, South Africa

The draw will take place later this afternoon, Thursday, July 4, 2024, in Johannesburg, South Africa.

Draw Details

According to a statement from the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) Communications Department, the draw ceremony will be held at the SuperSport studio in Johannesburg, South Africa’s commercial and economic hub.

The draw will involve 48 African countries divided into 12 groups of four teams each.

The top two teams from each group will qualify directly for the finals, scheduled for December 21, 2025, to January 18, 2026.

ALSO READ  Wilfred Ndidi Reveals 'Great Funny Guy' as Reason for Signing New Leicester City Contract

In the 12th group, Morocco, as the host nation, will automatically qualify along with one other team from that group.

Qualifying Schedule

The qualifying matches are set to be played during the FIFA windows in September, October, and November of this year.

Pot Assignments

Nigeria is placed in Pot 1, alongside Morocco, Senegal, Egypt, Côte d’Ivoire, Tunisia, Algeria, Cameroon, Mali, South Africa, DR Congo, and Ghana.

Full List of Teams in the Draw:

Pot 1:

ALSO READ  UK Prime Minister Salutes England Squad: 'You've Made the Country Proud' as Spain Claims Record 4th Euro Title

– Senegal
– Egypt
– Côte d’Ivoire
– Nigeria
– Tunisia
– Algeria
– Cameroon
– Mali
– South Africa
– DR Congo
– Ghana

Pot 2:

Cape Verde
– Burkina Faso
– Guinea
– Gabon
– Equatorial Guinea
– Zambia
– Benin Republic
– Angola
– Uganda
– Namibia
– Mozambique
– Madagascar

Pot 3:

– Mauritania
– Congo
– Tanzania
– Guinea Bissau
– Libya
– Comoros
– Togo
– Sudan
– Sierra Leone
– Malawi
– Central African Republic

Pot 4:

ALSO READ  Super Eagles' Osayi-Samuel Grabs First Assist Under Jose Mourinho's Fenerbahce

Niger Republic
– Zimbabwe
– Rwanda
– The Gambia
– Burundi
– Liberia
– Ethiopia
– Botswana
– Lesotho
– Eswatini
– South Sudan
– Chad

Footballrover will bringing you more updates as the Super Eagles prepare to embark on their journey to the 2025 AFCON finals.

Like this post?
We’d be delighted to hear from you. Please leave a comment in the box below!

About the Author

Obum Akawor
A retired Senior Civil Servant and sports journalist. A Fellow, Chartered Institute of Administration, FCAI.

Be the first to comment on "Super Eagles to Discover 2025 AFCON Opponents in Johannesburg, South Africa"

Leave a comment