Excitement Builds for the 2023 Senior Women’s World Cup in Australia

Excitement Builds for the 2023 Senior Women's World Cup in Australia

The excitement for the 2023 Senior Women’s World Cup is spreading across the soccer world as the kick-off date of July 20, 2023, draws near.Excitement Builds for the 2023 Senior Women's World Cup in Australia

In Africa, four teams representing the continent, namely Nigeria’s Super Falcons, South Africa’s Banyana Banyana, Zambia’s Copper Queens, and Morocco’s Atlas Lionesses, are embarking on their Pre-World Cup training camps at various locations worldwide.

The Super Falcons, who have been crowned African Champions nine times, left Nigeria on July 2, 2023, for a 15-day training camp in Australia ahead of the World Cup.

This year’s edition of the Women’s World Cup, hosted by Australia and New Zealand, marks the ninth edition.

The Super Falcons of Nigeria have participated in the past eight editions, establishing a record for any African team in the tournament.

In previous tournaments, the Super Falcons have failed to progress beyond the group stage on six occasions: 1991, 1995, 2003, 2007, 2011, and 2015.

In 2019, the team reached the round of 16 after emerging as one of the third-best group teams.

Back in 1999, the Super Falcons were eliminated in the quarterfinal stage following a 3-4 loss to Brazil in extra time.

Noteworthy players aged 40, such as Super Falcons Captain Onome Ebi, Brazil’s Martha, and Canada’s Christine Sinclair, are among the participants from the 32 teams representing their countries in this global women’s football championship.

The teams have been divided into eight groups (A-H), each comprising four teams. The matches will take place from July 20, 2023, to August 3, 2023.

Here are the groups:

Group A: New Zealand, Norway, the Philippines, and Switzerland

Group B: Australia, Canada, Nigeria, and the Republic of Ireland

Group C: Costa Rica, Japan, Spain, and Zambia

Group D: China, Denmark, England, and Haiti

Group E: Netherlands, Portugal, United States of America, and Vietnam

Group F: Brazil, France, Jamaica, and Panama

Group G: Argentina, Italy, South Africa, and Sweden

Group H: Colombia, Germany, South Korea, and Morocco

Groups E, F, G, and H are expected to be the most challenging in this edition of the Women’s World Cup.

The Netherlands and France are expected to advance from Group E, while Brazil and France are the favorites in Group F.

Argentina and Sweden are the favorites in Group G, but Italy has a good chance of outperforming Sweden for a spot in the round of 16. In Group H, Germany and South Korea are likely to secure the top positions, but Morocco or Colombia could surprise either of the leading teams in the group.

Groups A and B are difficult to predict, but Switzerland and Norway have a good chance of advancing from Group A.

Nigeria and Canada are the favorites in Group B, but co-hosts Australia might cause surprises against any of the favorites.

In Group C, Spain and Japan are the favorites to progress to the next round, while England and China are expected to secure Group D tickets.

The knockout stages (Round of 16) will commence on August 5, 2023, and conclude on August 8, 2023, at venues including Eden Park, Wellington Regional Stadium, Sydney Football Stadium, Melbourne Rectangular Stadium, Brisbane Stadium, Stadium Australia, and Hindmarsh Stadium.

The competition will culminate on August 20, 2023.

Like this post?
We’d be delighted to hear from you. Please leave a comment in the box below!

About the Author

Obum Akawor
A retired Senior Civil Servant and sports journalist. A Fellow, Chartered Institute of Administration, FCAI.

Be the first to comment on "Excitement Builds for the 2023 Senior Women’s World Cup in Australia"

Leave a comment